Wednesday, 30 September 2009

G8 G20 Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Note: I'm not just here to entertain y'all, I'm here to educate. (wink)
The difference between G8 and G20

G8 countries: Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the United States of America and the United Kingdom.

The G8 Summit: Starting with six countries, the heads of state have met once a year since 1975. Subjects of the yearly event, which “eight world leaders get together in informal setting to talk about issues of day,” according to Parry Sound-Muskoka member of Parliament Tony Clement, range from international security, climate change, international trade and more.

G20 countries: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America and the European Union.

The G20 Summit: The first informal meeting of the G20 took place in 1999 along with finance ministers and world banking representatives to discuss issues with the global economy. The G20 gained even greater significance in late 2008 following the financial crisis. In November 2008, the United States hosted the first-ever G20 Summit followed by one in London, England in April and the most recent in Pittsburgh last week.

Stay Tuned here or here!
Excellent Fall photos of G8/G20 Venue here.


Jan said...

You're providing a service (a good one !)

Real estate int GTA said...

Thank you for educating me :-) It's kind of funny that the EU is a part of G20 as a whole union, whereas there are 4 indepedent EU countries in G8.

Huntsville Ontario said...

Hey thanks for the mention in your blog ;)

I added some more pictures today, only one of them is of Deerhurst but some nice fall photos of Huntsville!